Writing for No Words

What’s a little artist to do with some bright paint, a creative mind, and a big blank canvas? Should he paint a bird, a fish, or a giraffe? Or maybe he’ll paint an elephant or an anteater? A Minibombo book originally  published in Italy, Borando, Clerici, and Pica have created a delightfully illustrated wordless picture book that takes its readers through this little artist’s journey to make the perfect painting come alive.

Writing for a published picture book with no words is a challenge. AND I ACCEPT! 

This little exercise got me moving and working with something already published to learn how a picture book is designed, how the story flows, and how one can tell a good story with no words!

I got this idea from one of the many articles I read (I can’t find it! It’s SOMEWHERE and when I do find it, definitely sharing it!)

The White Book

Silvia Borando

Lorenzo Clerici

Elisabetta Pica

UGGGGG 11.jpeg

Here’s it’s book trailer.

Now when I wrote this, I was simply reacting to the pages and whatever my hand wrote down is here. This is by NO MEANS great writing. In fact, it’s horrible and most anyone reading this who haven’t viewed The White Book will probably not know what the heck is going on! Can you guess? That’s the fun of the exercise. Here’s what I came up with:

“Nothing.

Nothing?

There’s got to be something. I’ll make it be something.”

Swish, swish, swish.

“There! Perfect! No come back!

Phooey.”

Swish, swish, swish.

“Yes, much better!

Wait! Don’t go! Fine! I’ll paint something else!” 

Swish, swish, swish.

“Im gonna paint something scaly and awesome!

…Nope nope! Never mind, never mind!”

Swish, swish, swish.

“This one is going to be perfect! Massively magnificent!

And.. too big, TOO BIG!”

Swish, swish, swish.

“This one will be so tall and graceful, just what I was-PUT ME DOWN!”

Swish, swish, swish.

“Okay, so not so tall, not so big. It’s got to be just right…

hey, gimme that back!”

Swish,

“Oh boy,”

Swish, swish

“now what?”

Swish, swish, swish.

“There!” 

And that’s all folks~ Next time I’ll do the opposite, illustrate a manuscript already published (maybe by then I’ll actually find that article!)

 

Leave a Reply

