Book Dummy Update!

Does anyone else write and draw simultaneously and want to create a children’s book? 

I fell in love with creating book dummies because writing feeds my illustration beast and illustrating feeds my writing beast. It’s the best way I know to make a story and if there is anyone out there who hasn’t tried making a dummy (even if you’re not an illustrator!) you should, you would certainly benefit from the experience.

 

UGGGGG 14 copy.jpg

 

The image above is one of the pages to my dummy. As you can see, it has a certain level of sketchiness. Most of the articles I’ve read say pencil sketches for the dummy is a good idea as you’re guaranteed to make many changes if your book is ever lucky enough to get into the hands of a publisher, or an agent if you’re looking for one. I’m planning on making multiple dummies to send to an agent. UGGGGG 15 copy.jpg

Getting the manuscript and designs down coherently is the most important part of the dummy, but presentation of the physical dummy and it’s function is important as well.  This article helps with the physical making of the dummy and I recommend reading it!

UGGGGG 12 copy.jpg

These pages are not draw the best by any means, but it’s progress!

5 thoughts on “Book Dummy Update!

  1. Thanks for sharing my book dummy page. Question: Is there a reason you want to make it difficult for visitors to know your name? Just thought I would point out that you are missing a huge opportunity. You know, you should submit something for Take A Look Sunday. Really like your artwork.

    Kathy

    Like

    • 😄 no I do not want to make it difficult haha. You’re referring to BHandiboe? I should probably change that to Brittanny Handiboe danggit. Also, what is Take a Look Sunday? It’s ringing some kind of bell but I’m not sure if its a petite dinner bell or a gong and I’m missing something obviously booming. Thanks!

      Like

  2. Brittany,

    You should put you name in your banner and you should mention your name on your about page. I couldn’t find any name, until I did a lot of searching.

    HOW TO PARTICIPATE:

    If you do not have an agent and would like to be featured and hear what is working or how it could be tweaked to help you sell your work, then please send Two or Three SEQUENTIAL illustrations (Two/three with the SAME “story/characters‎”) to:

    Kathy.temean (at) gmail.com. Illustrations should be at least 500 pixels wide and your name should be in the .jpg title. Please put ILLUSTRATOR PORTFOLIO in the subject area and include a blurb about yourself that I can use to introduce you to everyone.

    Each Sunday one illustrator will be featured.

    Here is a link to see last Sunday’s featured Illustrator. https://kathytemean.wordpress.com/2016/07/10/take-a-look-sunday-tiffany-england/

    The Organisation UK is critiquing until the end of August.

    Kathy

    Like

Leave a Reply

