The Pause, The Noise, The Concept

As I’m going through these picture books that I love on my list I’m noticing a few similarities.

I felt like I was repeating myself when writing reviews.

So I’ve been doing something different. 

The Pause is something that grabs my attention quickly to any picture book that does this. It’s the turnaround in the tale, the “Ah ha!” moment, the pause in time and space when the viewer can finally come face to face with the moral of the story. A Sick Day for Amos McGee, Extra Yarn, Where the Wild Things Are, and Dragons Love Tacos are a few examples of this technique. 

The Noise is just simply sounds that make a scene in a book worthy of attention. This includes shaping words, dialogue, and words molded into the illustrations. Bully, There was an Old Dragon who Swallowed a Knight, Pete the Cat, Iggy Peck Architect, and Bloom are a few. 

The Concept is the idea of the picture book. Most of the stories I love have characters that learn how to deal with themselves, who they are, what they are afraid of, and how they interact with the world around them. Most of these concepts almost have a bitter sweet tone to them.  I Don’t Want to be a Frog, Please Louise, The Extraordinary Mr. Qwerty, and The Dark all kinda deal with facing oneself, fears, and the world. 

These are the big three. I could totally get into more themes like stories that end full circle, stories with interesting narration, stories with only dialogue, stories that rhyme vs prose, and some others.

Instead of doing the  stories separate I’ve created some posts that deal with these three themes. I feel like this has helped me with STORYSTORM this month a great deal. 

 

Leave a Reply

